The Alberta Debate and Speech Association


Each year in February, ADSA hosts their annual Provincial Speech Championships. To qualify for this competition, students must participate in, and advance from, a Regional Speech Champhionship. At the Provincial Speech Championships, students participate in a number of different categories of competition, including Original Oratory, Impromptu, Poetry, Prose, Solo Acting, and Duet Acting.

During the competition, the following awards and accolades are given, as outlined in the Policy and Rules Manual:

- A trophy for the best junior and senior class competitors of all six categories
- The Mike Dorval Memorial Plaques (2) to the junior and senior high student who best exemplifies a commitment to and involvement in speech.
- The Morris Brause Award to the Adult or Association who makes the most outstanding contribution to Speech
- The Willis Kachuk Award Plaque for the School hosting the Speech Provincials that year
- The Dorval Gavel to the school committing to host the follow year’s Speech Provincials
- Bev Dyan Memorial Cup for the Top Senior High Competitors advancing to Senior High Nationals, the school with the most winners hosts the cup for that year

At the end of the Speech Provincials, a national "speak-off" takes place to determine the delegates to represent Alberta at the Senior High National Public Speaking Championships. The participants in this Senior High speak-off are the top ranked Grade 10 or 11 student in each Sr. High Speech Category. They each present an Original Oratory speech of not more than five minutes long which had not been given in any other ADSA sponsored event (including this Provincial Speech). The winners of the "Speak-off" are awarded the Bev Dayan Trophy.

At the end of the Speech Provincials Jr. High Students with top placings in select categories may qualify to attend the Junior High Speech Nationals. Qualifications vary based on the host school for each year.